A+ Certification: Essentials
  • Introduction
  • Preparation Materials
  • Skills Measured
  • Online Test
  • Testimonials
  • View Comments

In order to receive CompTIA A+ certification a candidate must pass two exams. The first exam is CompTIA A+ Essentials. The CompTIA A+ Essentials Examination measures necessary competencies for an entry-level IT professional with the equivalent knowledge of at least 500 hours of hands-on experience in the lab or field. Hands-on experience or equivalent knowledge includes installing, building, upgrading, repairing, configuring, troubleshooting, optimizing, diagnosing, and performing preventive maintenance of basic personal computer hardware and operating systems. CompTIA recently convened a core of CompTIA A+ subject matter experts representing a diverse group of employers, educators and IT professionals which resulted in the revised CompTIA A+ examinations objectives. The skills and knowledge measured by these objectives were validated through a survey of more then 5,000 CompTIA A+ certified professionals and employers. The results of the survey were used in weighting the domains and ensuring that the weighting is representative of the relative importance of that content to the job requirements of an entry-level IT professional. The intent is to certify individuals in a body of knowledge that is identified and accepted as the baseline or foundation of an entry-level IT professional.
This examination blueprint includes domain weighting, test objectives, and example content. Example topics and concepts are included to clarify the test objectives and should not be construed as a comprehensive listing of all the content of this examination.
The table below lists the domains measured by this examination and the extent to which they are represented. CompTIA A+ Essentials exams are based on these objectives.
Domain Percentage of Examination
1.0 Personal Computer Components 21%
2.0 Laptop and Portable Devices 11%
3.0 Operating Systems 21%
4.0 Printers and Scanners 9%
5.0 Networks 12%
6.0 Security 11%
7.0 Safety and Environmental Issues 10%
8.0 Communication and Professionalism 5%
Total 100%